Azure Multi-Factor Authentification

Azure Multi-Factor Authentication service protects access to your data and applications, and meets the demand of users who want a simple connection process. It provides strong authentication through a range of simple verification options (phone call, SMS or mobile app notification and one-time passwords) to allow users to choose their preferred method. It is suitable for local and cloud environments. It provides increased security when accessing Microsoft Online Services, as well as SaaS applications connected to Azure Active Directory, business and remote access.

How it works

The security of two-step verification is based on its layered approach. Compromising several authentication factors presents a major challenge for attackers. Even if an attacker succeeds in knowing the user’s password, it is useless without having the additional authentication method. The principle operates on the imposition of at least two of the following authentication methods:

Something you know

usually a password

Something specific about you

biometrics

Something that you own

a trusted device that isn’t easily duplicated, like a phone

Azure Multi-Factor Authentication (MFA) helps secure access to data and applications while maintaining ease of management for users. MFA provides additional security by requiring a second form of authentication, and provides strong authentication through a variety of easy-to-use authentication methods.

Authentication method

The Azure AD self-service password reset and multi-factor authentication features may require additional information, called authentication methods or security information, to verify your identity when you use the associated features.

Administrators can define in the policy the authentication methods available to users with self-service multi-factor authentication and password reset. Some authentication methods may not be available for all features.

Password

Self-service multi-factor authentication and password reset

Security question

Self-service password reset only

Email address


Self-service password reset only

Microsoft Authenticator application

Multi-factor authentication and public preview for self-service password reset

Hardware OATH tokens

Public preview for multi-factor authentication and self-service password reset

SMS

Self-service multi-factor authentication and password reset

Voice call

Self-service multi-factor authentication and password reset

Microsoft billing model

Azure Multi-Factor Authentication is available as a standalone service with user and authentication billing options, or bundled with Azure Active Directory Premium, Enterprise Mobility Suite and Enterprise Cloud Suite. Azure Multi-Factor Authentication is available through a Microsoft Enterprise Agreement, the Open Volume Licensing program, the Cloud and direct solutions  program provider, as an annual user-based model. It is also available with a consumption-based authentication and user model, which is billed monthly on the Azure financial commitment.
 

Per user according to consumption

By authentication according to consumption

Annual model per user

Annual model per user

References

To the delight of our customers, we have helped them to minimize the risks associated with their digital transformation so that they can fully benefit from their solutions.

new-york-438391_640

Multinationals / Large companies

up to 10,000 employees across 200+ sites all over the world

For more than 25 years, we have been installing Microsoft’s unified communications solutions in large international corporations all over the world. We have in-depth knowledge of telecommunications across the board, and know what to look out for when upgrading a company’s systems.

startup-594090_640

Medium-sized companies

from 50 employees and with 1-2 sites

Our medium-sized clients know the value of working with an experienced and able partner. They get the full benefit of our vast experience of installing Microsoft’s unified communications solutions in multinational companies, which means the total cost is lower and the set-up time is reduced.

Going further together !

Please do not hesitate to get in touch should you have any question or suggestion. We will be pleased to answer it by email or phone.

Azure Multi-Factor Authentification

Le service Azure Multi-Factor Authentication protège l’accès à vos données et applications, et répond à la demande des utilisateurs souhaitant un processus de connexion simple. Il assure une authentification forte par le biais d’une gamme d’options de vérification simples (appel téléphonique, SMS ou notification d’application mobile et mots de passe à usage unique) pour permettre aux utilisateurs de choisir leur méthode préférée. Il est adapté aux environnements locaux et dans le cloud. Il permet de bénéficier d’une sécurité accrue lors de l’accès à Microsoft Online Services, ainsi qu’aux applications SaaS connectées à Azure Active Directory, métiers et d’accès à distance.

Fonctionnement

La sécurité de la vérification en deux étapes repose sur son approche en couche. Compromettre plusieurs facteurs d’authentification présente un défi de taille pour les attaquants. Même si un attaquant réussit à connaître le mot de passe de l’utilisateur, celui-ci lui est inutile sans posséder la méthode d’authentification supplémentaire. Le principe fonctionne sur l’imposition au minimum de deux des méthodes d’authentification suivantes :

Un élément que vous connaissez

généralement un mot de passe

Un élément vous concernant particulièrement

biométrie

Un élément que vous possédez

un appareil de confiance qui n’est pas facilement dupliqué, comme un téléphone

Azure Multi-Factor Authentication (MFA) participe à la sécurisation de l’accès aux données et aux applications tout en maintenant une simplicité de gestion pour les utilisateurs. MFA fournit une sécurité supplémentaire en exigeant une deuxième forme d’authentification, et procure une authentification renforcée par le biais d’un éventail de méthodes d’authentification faciles à utiliser.

Méthode d’authentification

La fonctionnalités de réinitialisation de mot de passe en libre-service Azure AD et d’authentification multifacteur peuvent nécessiter des informations supplémentaires, appelées méthodes d’authentification ou informations de sécurité, pour vérifier votre identité lorsque vous utilisez les fonctionnalités associées.

Les administrateurs peuvent définir, dans la stratégie, les méthodes d’authentification disponibles pour les utilisateurs avec les fonctionnalités d’authentification multifacteur et de réinitialisation de mot de passe en libre-service. Certaines méthodes d’authentification peuvent ne pas être disponibles pour toutes les fonctionnalités.

Mot de passe

Authentification multifacteur et réinitialisation de mot de passe en libre-service

Questions de sécurité

Réinitialisation de mot de passe en libre-service uniquement

Adresse de messagerie

Réinitialisation de mot de passe en libre-service uniquement

Application Microsoft Authenticator

Authentification multifacteur et préversion publique pour la réinitialisation de mot de passe en libre-service

Jetons matériels OATH

Préversion publique pour l’authentification multifacteur et la réinitialisation de mot de passe en libre-service

SMS

Authentification multifacteur et réinitialisation de mot de passe en libre-service

Appel vocal

Authentification multifacteur et réinitialisation de mot de passe en libre-service

Modèle de facturation Microsoft

Azure Multi-Factor Authentication est disponible en tant que service autonome avec des options de facturation par utilisateur et par authentification, ou regroupé avec Azure Active Directory PremiumEnterprise Mobility Suite et Enterprise Cloud Suite. Azure Multi-Factor Authentication est disponible au moyen d’un Contrat Entreprise Microsoft, du programme de licence en volume Open, du programme Fournisseur de solutions cloud et Direct, sous forme de modèle annuel basé sur l’utilisateur. Il est également disponible avec un modèle par authentification et par utilisateur basé sur la consommation, qui est facturé par mois sur l’engagement financier Azure.

Par utilisateur en fonction de la consommation

Par authentification en fonction de la consommation

Modèle annuel par utilisateur

Modèle annuel par utilisateur

Références

Pour le plus grand bonheur de nos clients nous les avons aidé à minimiser les risques lié à leur transformation digital afin qu’ils puissent pleinement profiter de leurs solutions.

city-2720913_640
Multinationales / Grande entreprises

Jusqu’à 12’000 employés sur +200 sites dans le monde

Nous accompagnons depuis plus de 20 ans de grands groupes internationaux  lors de déploiement de solutions Microsoft. Notre rigueur au travail ainsi que notre forte connaissance de la plupart des outils Microsoft nous permet de vous conseiller au mieux sur les meilleures pratiques à adopter lors de telle migration.

action-2277292_640
Moyennes entreprises

à partir de 50 employés avec 1-2 sites

Notre grande expérience sur le déploiement des solutions Microsoft dans les multinationales réjouissent les sociétés de plus petites tailles qui comprennent le bénéficie de travailler avec un partenaire fort. Le coût total et le délai de mise en oeuvre de leur projet se voient réduits. 

Pour plus d’informations – 021 806 37 15 – sales@lambertconsulting.ch